top of page

(hidden) helper text to format the ABOUT rich text with this font


Kris LaPoint

Kris LaPoint

Honored in 

Kris LaPoint both embodies and pre-dates parts of the history of our sport. This makes these IWWF Awards priceless in recognising extraordinary achievements which were recorded even before our Official records were established. Also, prior to 1975, single event skiers could not compete in World Championships. Also prior to 1975, Kris LaPoint had already won seven US Masters Slalom titles in 1967,1968,1970,1971,1972,1973 and 1975. He was National Slalom Champion nine times in the years 1965,1968,1971,1972,1973,1974,1975,1977 and 1982. With advancing technology and equipment, Robby Zucchi (ITA) recorded the first Official IWWF World Slalom Record in 1973 of 2 buoys on the 12m line. Prior to that, Kris LaPoint held the US Record in 1966 with 3 buoys at 36′ Off and in 1969 with 6 buoys at 36′ Off. Then in 1970 he increased this to 1 buoy at 11.25m and in 1975 to 2 and 4 buoys that same year at 11.25m. AWSA established the role of Homologator in 1975. Kris’s Official IWWF Slalom Records then came in 1982 with 3 buoys on the 10.75m line, following two years later in 1984 with a new World Slalom Record of 4.5 buoys on the 10.75m line. Other outstanding titles achieved at that time included US Pro Tour champion at Tampa, Marine World, Saint Paul and San Diego. Off the water, Kris was the first Skier’s representative on the USA Waterski Board, Pro Event Tournament Director, senior boat driver for 15 years and of course renowned and highly successful slalom ski designer.

bottom of page