top of page

Joaquin Mendoza Receives 2023 Kyle P. Tate Scholarship

Joaquin Mendoza of Truckee, California has been chosen as the 2023 recipient of the $5,000 Kyle P. Tate Scholarship. Joaquin an incoming Junior at San Diego State University and is studying Computer Science.

“I feel very privileged to be chosen as this year’s Kyle P. Tate scholarship recipient. The waterski community has woven so tightly into my life in college, so receiving such a gracious award for my commitment to this community is an incredibly motivating gesture that I will never take for granted," he says.

The USA Water Ski & Wake Sports Foundation scholarships are awarded each year to water skiers who show leadership abilities and demonstrate that involvement in the sport has helped them grow both personally and academically.

Established in 2022, the Kyle P. Tate Scholarship is awarded to the outstanding male applicant who attends a four-year accredited college and skis primarily in AWSA, NCWSA, or USA-AWSWS tournaments. The applicant must demonstrate excellence in academics, athletics, leadership, and volunteerism.

The USA Water Ski & Wake Sports Foundation is very proud of our young athletes and honored to support their future academic needs. You can help support our mission by joining or donating to the foundation at the link below.


bottom of page